[Governance] - Banner


[Governance] - Overview picture


[Governance] - Board


The Board, responsible for the planning and approval of the Institute’s main strategies, consist of fifteen highly qualified members, one of which is appointed as Chairman. These include representatives from the science, economics, industry and civil society fields. The Board ensures the excellence of the Foundation and manages the use and allocation of resources. More specifically, it proposes strategic and operational guidelines, approves long-term work programmes, deliberates general operating regulations and periodically evaluates the Foundation’s results and overall progress. The Board can be further organised in committees, whose meetings can also be attended by external members, who are not members of the Board. Members of the Board must comply with the requirements of independence, integrity and professionalism and are chosen according to the characteristics described above, ensuring adequate representation of the various categories in the science, economics, industry and civil society fields. Board members hold office for four years and may only be reappointed for one additional term. The Board deliberates on new appointments or confirmation of existing appointments. The Board may also be joined by three additional honorary members, without voting rights. Board members cannot take part in other Foundation bodies or operational structures.


[Governance] - Executive Committee

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of five members (the President, the Scientific Director and three other members) and is responsible for ordinary and extraordinary administration activities. The members of the Executive Committee are appointed by the board, serve a five-year term and may be reappointed. Among other duties, the Executive Committee refers to the Board to approve strategic plans, prepares and approves the annual budget and submits annual financial statements to the Board of Statutory Auditors and the Board, to the extent applicable; it issues and modifies guidelines and operating policies, submits amendment proposals for General operating regulations to the Board for approval; appoints the Director General, administrative managers and research facility managers, following consultation with the Scientific Director.


[Governance] - Board Of Statutory Auditors

Board Of Statutory Auditors

The Board of Statutory Auditors is composed of three members, one of whom acts as Chairman. It ensures compliance with the law and internal regulations and the proper keeping of accounts, reporting its assessments on the matter to the Board. Members of the Board of Statutory Auditors serve a five-year term and may be reappointed for one additional term.


[Governance] - Scientific Technical Committee

Scientific Technical Committee

The Scientific Technical Committee plays a general advisory role with regard to the technical and scientific evaluation of research activities carried out by the Foundation; it expresses opinions and assessments to the President and the Executive Committee in relation to: (i) the quality and scientific relevance, and possibly technological and industrial relevance of research programmes and additional scientific and technological initiatives; (ii) the strategic plan: (iii) the allocation of funds, verifying the adequacy of funding requests and analysing the coherence of proposals with the overall strategy of the Foundation; (iv) the progress of research projects. The STC reports to the President of the Foundation and, functionally through the President, to the Executive Committee. STC members are appointed by the President of the IIT Foundation, following consultation with the Executive Board, for periods up to 5 years and may be reappointed. The STC is composed of a maximum of 20 members external to the Foundation, selected from among members of the scientific and technological community and from the industrial and professional world, highly qualified and experienced in fields relevant to the Foundation, and acknowledged as authorities in these fields.