The establishment of IIT as a Foundation governed by the Italian Civil Code is ascribable to a consolidated legislative orientation: conferring parties operating different legal configurations in the public realm, regardless of the general interest purpose being pursued. Thus, in the case of IIT’s governance model, an institutional framework is in place, largely anchored on private law provisions, governing the current use of funds deriving from the public finance system.

IIT’S Foundation Statute

The Foundation's executive bodies are as follows

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors, responsible for the planning and approval of the Institute’s main strategies, consist of fifteen highly qualified members, one of which is appointed as Chairman. These include representatives from the science, economics, industry and civil society fields. The Board ensures the excellence of the Foundation and manages the use and allocation of resources. More specifically, it proposes strategic and operational guidelines, approves long-term work programmes, deliberates general operating regulations and periodically evaluates the Foundation’s results and overall progress. The Board can be further organised in committees, whose meetings can also be attended by external members, who are not members of the Board. Members of the Board must comply with the requirements of independence, integrity and professionalism and are chosen according to the characteristics described above, ensuring adequate representation of the various categories in the science, economics, industry and civil society fields. Board members hold office for four years and may only be reappointed for one additional term. The Board deliberates on new appointments or confirmation of existing appointments. The Board may also be joined by three additional honorary members, without voting rights. Board members cannot take part in other Foundation bodies or operational structures.

Giulio Ballio
Annamaria Colao
Fulvio Conti
Rita Cucchiara
Vittorio Umberto Grilli (Chairman)
Pietro Guindani
Umberto Malesci
Mauro Moretti
Francesco Profumo
Giuseppe Recchi
Lucrezia Reichlin
Carlo Rosa
Francesco Starace
Vittorio Terzi
Elena Zambon

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of five members (the President, the Scientific Director and three other members) and is responsible for ordinary and extraordinary administration activities. The members of the Executive Committee are appointed by the board, serve a five-year term and may be reappointed. Among other duties, the Executive Committee refers to the Board of Directors to approve strategic plans, prepares and approves the annual budget and submits annual financial statements to the Board of Statutory Auditors and the Board of Directs, to the extent applicable; it issues and modifies guidelines and operating policies, submits amendment proposals for General operating regulations to the Board for approval; appoints the Director General, administrative managers and research facility managers, following consultation with the Scientific Director.

Gabriele Galateri di Genola
Roberto Cingolani
Giuseppe Pericu
Francesca Pasinelli
Alberto Sangiovanni Vincentelli


The President is the legal representative of the Foundation, serves as Chairman of the Executive Committee and manages relations with the Board of Directors; the individual supervises and oversees the performance of the Institute, through the coordination of functions assigned; liaises with supervisory Institutions and Administrations. 

Gabriele Galateri di Genola

Scientific Director

The Scientific Director is responsible for the implementation of strategies and for the operational management of the Institute, through the definition of the scientific plan, the coordination of scientific and administrative functions, and the implementation of resolutions adopted by the Executive Committee. The Scientific Director is subject to annual evaluation by the Scientific Technical Committee and by the Board of Directors.

Roberto Cingolani

Board Of Statutory Auditors

The Board of Statutory Auditors is composed of three members, one of whom acts as Chairman. It ensures compliance with the law and internal regulations and the proper keeping of accounts, reporting its assessments on the matter to the Board of Directors. Members of the Board of Statutory Auditors serve a five-year term and may be reappointed for one additional term.

Paolo Castaldi (President)
Enrico Vassallo
Marcella Gargano

Additional key components of the IIT Foundation governance model consist of the following functions:

Director General

The Director General is appointed by the Executive Committee, following consultation with the Scientific Director and is responsible for administration, finance and control activities, as well as any additional activities specifically delegated by the Executive Committee. 

Gianmarco Montanari

Vice Scientific Director

The Vice Scientific Director supplements functions assigned to the Scientific Director, with regard to operational management delegated to the latter. The individual also supervises support programmes and provides mentoring to PhD students, in collaboration with the Human Resources and Organisation department. The Vice Scientific Director is appointed by the Board of Directors, following consultation with the Executive Committee, on the proposal of the Scientific Director.

Giorgio Metta

Scientific Technical Committee

The Scientific Technical Committee plays a general advisory role with regard to the technical and scientific evaluation of research activities carried out by the Foundation; it expresses opinions and assessments to the President and the Executive Committee in relation to: (i) the quality and scientific relevance, and possibly technological and industrial relevance of research programmes and additional scientific and technological initiatives; (ii) the strategic plan: (iii) the allocation of funds, verifying the adequacy of funding requests and analysing the coherence of proposals with the overall strategy of the Foundation; (iv) the progress of research projects. The STC reports to the President of the Foundation and, functionally through the President, to the Executive Committee. STC members are appointed by the President of the IIT Foundation, following consultation with the Executive Board, for periods up to 5 years and may be reappointed. The STC is composed of a maximum of 20 members external to the Foundation, selected from among members of the scientific and technological community and from the industrial and professional world, highly qualified and experienced in fields relevant to the Foundation, and acknowledged as authorities in these fields.

Patrick Aebischer
Lia Addadi
Adriano Aguzzi
Yasuhiko Arakawa
Uri Banin
Emilio Bizzi
Martin Chalfie
Kenji Doya
Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli
Takeo Kanade
Oussama Khatib
Giorgio Margaritondo (Chairman)
Arto Nurmikko
Michele Parrinello
Jean-Jacques Slotine

Supervisory Body

The Supervisory Board is appointed by the Executive Committee. It operates as a collegial group and regularly reports to the Executive Committee, supervising and overseeing the implementation of the Organisational, management and control model adopted by the IIT Foundation pursuant to Article 6 of Legislative Decree 231/2001.