social linkedin box blue 32
social facebook box blue 32
social twitter box blue 32
social facebook box blue 32
AboutOrganisation ■ Scientific Director

Scientific Director


Roberto Cingolani

Born in Milano, Italy, on 23 December 1961.

Since December 8th, 2005, the Scientific Director of IIT has been Roberto Cingolani.

Scientific activity

  • 1985 Degree in Physics, Bari University
  • 1988 PhD in Physics, Bari University
  • 1989 Diploma di Perfezionamento in Physics, Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa
  • 1989 - 1991 Staff member at Max Planck Institut for Festkörperforschung in Stuttgart (Germany)
  • 1992 Associate Professor of Physics, University of Lecce
  • During 1997 Visiting Professor at the Institute of Industrial Sciences, Tokyo University, Tokyo Japan
  • During 1998 Visiting Professor at Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond Virginia, USA
  • 2000 Professor of General Physics at the Engineering Faculty, University of Lecce
  • 2001 Founder and Director of the National Nanotechnology Laboratory (NNL) of INFM at University of Lecce
  • Since December 2005 Scientific Director of IIT (Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia) - Genova

R. Cingolani is author or co-author of about 700 papers in international journals and holds about 30 patents in the fields of:

  • Structural, optical and electronic properties of quantum nanostructures of semiconductors
  • Optical spectroscopy of solids and modelling of the electronic states (1985-1995)
  • Nanofabrication of  quantum nanostructures by optical, X-ray and electron-beam lithography (1990-2000)
  • Molecular nanotechnologies for plastic photonics, OLED e plastic  electronic devices (since 2000).
  • Bio-nanotechnologies, biomimetic systems, biological electronic devices (since 2003)
  • Nanochemistry, study and interdisciplinary application of nanoparticles of controlled size, shape and composition for new fluorophores, intelligent drug delivery, nanocomposite materials
  • Smart nanocomposite materials.

Other Institutional Appointments:

  • Since 2001 he has been member of various panels of the European Commission within the Sixth and Seventh Frame Programs in the field of Nanotechnology, New materials and New production systems
  • From 2002 he has been member of different panels of the Ministry of Research and University (Technical Secretariat for the National Research Plan, Commission for the selection the Centres of Excellence)
  • From 2000 to 2003 he was executive Vice-president of the National Institute for the Physics of the Matter (INFM)

Awards and Honors

  • 1978 National finalist of the X European Philips Contest for Young Researchers and Inventors
  • 1980 and 1981 European finalist of the XII and XIII European Philips Contest for Young Researchers and Inventors (Amsterdam and Bruxelles, respectively)
  • 1980 Awarded of the title of Alfiere del Lavoro by the President of the Italian Republic for the scientific and school curriculum
  • 1986 and 1990 Prize of the Italian Physical Society for young researchers
  • 1999 Awarded of the INFM prize “Ugo Campisano”, for researchers in the field of Semiconductor Physics
  • 2000 Awarded of the “ST-Microelectronics“ prize by the Italian Physical Society
  • 2006 Awarded of the title of Commendatore della Repubblica  by the President of the Italian Republic
  • 2006 Awarded of the Premio "Guido Dorso" by the Senate of the Italian Republic for his Research Activity
  • 2010 Awarded of the Premio "Grande Ippocrate" by Unamsi and Novartis

Last Updated on Monday, 24 September 2012 11:26